MeraNews Network, Mumbai: The Ahmedabad Smash Masters won their opening tie at the Premier Badminton League (PBL) against North Eastern Warriors by 4-1 on Sunday evening in Mumbai. Star shuttler Saina Nehwal was out of action and was replaced by Rituparna Das. Das won NEW’s only victory in the tie against Scotland’s Kirsty Gilmour 15-8, 15-9.

In the men’s single tie 1, ASM’s captain Viktor Axelsen defeated Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk, the men's doubles pair of Reginald Lee Chun Hei and Satwiksairaj Reddy won against Liao Min Chun and Yoo Yeon Seong. In the mixed doubles tie, Satwiksairaj Reddy and N Sikki Reddy defeated Kim Ha Na and Yoo Yeon Seong.

Satwiksairaj was awarded the Smartest Player of the Tie, while Viktor Axelsen was awarded player of the tie.

Earlier in the day, Mumbai Rockets started their campaign on a winning note as they defeated HS Prannoy-led Delhi Dashers, 5-0. On Monday, Pune 7 Aces will take on Awadhe Warriors at 7:00 PM in the evening in Mumbai.