The swearing-in ceremony by Gujarat government seemed dominated by Patel community. Of the 20 cabinet ministers and ministers of state announced on Tuesday morning, six are from Patidar community. This means almost 30 per cent of the ministers announced are Patels.  

Following the struggled victory in the Gujarat assembly elections BJP could manage 99 seats of the 182 assembly constituencies in Gujarat. One of the primary factors for the decline from 115 seats in 2012 to the double digit seats in this election was the Patidar agitation.

Therefore, political pundits believe, addition of Patidars in the ministry is seen as damage control act by the BJP high command, considering the upcoming 2017 Lok Sabha elections.  

The Patidar ministers included in the ministry are Nitin Patel, RC Faldu, Kaushik Patel, Saurabh Patel, Jayesh Radadiya and Kishor Kanani.  
The swearing-in ceremony began at 11am. Vijay Rupani took the oath as chief minister of Gujarat followed by Nitin Patel as deputy CM.

Others who took oath as cabinet minister are Bhupedrasinh Chudasma, Ganpathsinh Vasava, Dilipkumar Thakor and Ishwarbhai Parmar whereas ministers of State were Pradeepsinh Jadeja, Jaydrathsinhji Parmar, Ramanlal Patkar, Parsottambhai Solanki, Ishwarsinh Thakorbhai Patel, Vasanbhai Ahir, Bachubhai Khabad and Vibhavari Dave.  

Apart from the star campaigner of BJP, prime minister Narendra Modi other dignitaries who remained present at the function included BJP veteran Lal Krishna Advani; Union Home Minister, Rajnath Singh; minister for Road, Transport and Highway, Nitin Gadkari and Union Minister holding Law and Justice, Ravi Shankar Prasad; BJP party President, Amit Shah along with others.

About 18 chief ministers from India took part in the ceremony which included names like UP CM, Yogi Aditya Nath;  Madhya Pradesh CM, Shivraj Singh Chauhan,  Maharashtra CM, Devendra Fadnavis; Bihar CM, Nitish Kumar; Chittisgrah CM, Raman Singh; Rajasthan CM, Vasundhara Raje; Goa CM, Manohar Parrikar Haryana CM, Manoharlal Khattar among others.

There were also veterans of Gujarat politics who remained present at the function were Keshubhai Patel, Anandiben Patel and Shankersinh Vaghela.

Two stages were created, one for the ministers whereas other was for the saints from different communities. Narendra Modi, Vijay Rupani, Nitin Patel took blessings from them before the ceremony began.

Gujarat folk and Bollywood singers Osman Mir, Farida Mir and Parthiv Gohil had performed at the function.

Kuldeep Tiwari tweets at @kuldeep_2105.  Did you like this story? Then follow us on Facebook and Twitter.