Anil Pushpangadan, Gandhinagar: Gujarat Director General of Police (DGP) Shivanand Jha will be the top cop of the state till April 2020, but before him, 11 senior IPS officers from Gujarat will be retiring by December 2019.

Many senior IPS officers from the Gujarat cadre are slated to receive promotions next month in January. With IPS officers Geeta Johri and Pramod Kumar having already retired and IPS Tirthraj about to retire in January 2019, three DG rank positions remain open. The officers who would probably get promoted to these ranks are IPS Satish Sharma (current Surat Police Commissioner), Keshav Kumar (Special Director of Anti Corruption Bureau) and Vinod Mal (Police Reforms ADG). All the three officers belong to the 1986 batch.

Police officers who would be retiring in December 2018 are IPS AK Patnaik, who is on central deputation since last two decades, Intelligence Bureau IG RJ Savani and Ahmedabad city special branch DIG, SK Dave. In January 2019, other than IPS Tirthraj (DG, Human Rights Commission), Ahmedabad Crime Branch’s special police commissioner JK Bhatt will retire too. State Reserve Police Commandant GV Barot will retire in April 2019. Rajkot city joint police commissioner SM Khatri and Coastal Intelligence Bureau IG Shashikant Trivedi will retire in May 2019.

VM Parghi, the ADG of Technical Services will retire in June 2019. IPS Mohan Jha, DG Prisons and Surat Police Commissioner Satish Sharma are set to retire in July and August 2019 respectively.