MeraNews Network, Adelaide: India won the first test match against Australia by 31 runs in Adelaide on Monday. India now leads the four-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy test series 1-0. The Australian side was bowled out for 291 runs in 119.5 overs on the fifth day while chasing a target of 323 runs to win.

India, who decided to bat after winning the toss, was all out for 250 runs in the first innings. Cheteshwar Pujara struck a patient century on the first day of play, even as the rest of the batting line up around him crumbled. He was also the top scorer in the second innings with 71 runs off 204 balls. India scored 307/10 in 106.5 overs.

India bowled out the Australians for 235 in their first innings and left them trailing by 15 runs. Travis Head top-scored for Australia with 72 runs off 167 balls. In their second innings, chasing 323 runs to win, Shaun Marsh scored 60 runs but the others couldn’t survive the lethal bowling attack of Jasprit Bumrah, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Mohammed Shami, who picked 3 wickets each.

At a point, it felt as if Nathan Lyon would deny the visitors a win as he batted stubbornly, but Josh Hazelwood’s wicket wrapped up the game with India winning its first test in Adelaide Oval since 2003. Pujara was declared the Man of the match, while Nathan Lyon was the highest wicket-taker of the match.